
Tenant Protection Act of 2019 (AB 1482) 

Frequently Asked Questions 

The California Department of Housing and Community Development has compiled the 

following frequently asked questions about the Tenant Protection Act of 2019 (AB 

1482). Governor Gavin Newsom signed AB 1482 into law to fight a key cause of our 

state’s housing crisis – rent gouging and evictions. Among other things, AB 1482 caps 

annual rent increases and imposes new “just cause” protections to protect tenants 

against eviction.  

Please note: The Department of Housing and Community Development has no 

oversight role for AB 1482 matters and cannot provide answers or legal advice in 

response to individual questions. The information below is for general guidance 

only. For further details, please refer to Civil Code sections 1946.2 and 1947.12. 

Should you have questions or need assistance with any of the following, please 

consult an attorney. 

Q. What limits does this new law place on rent increases?

A. The law requires landlords of certain residential properties to limit increases

within a 12-month period to a maximum of 5 percent + the percentage change in

the cost of living from April 1 of the prior year to April 1 of the current year

(measured by the Consumer Price Index (CPI)), or 10 percent, whichever is

lower. So, for example, if your rent on April 1, 2019 was $1,000 per month, and

the CPI for the period between April 1, 2019 and April 1, 2020 in your region

were 4 percent, then a landlord subject to AB 1482 could not increase your rent

by more than 9 percent (5 percent + 4 percent), or $90 per month, within that 12-

month period.

The rent can be raised twice in a 12-month period, as long as the two increases

combined do not exceed the rent cap of 5 percent + CPI, or 10 percent,

whichever is lower.

Below is a guide to which CPI to use:

Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA MSA CPI-U
Los Angeles County
Orange County
Until May 11, 2020, use the percentage change from April 2018 to April 2019 of
3.3 percent.

San Francisco-Oakland-Hayward, CA MSA CPI-U
Alameda County
Contra Costa County

https://www.bls.gov/regions/west/news-release/ConsumerPriceIndex_LosAngeles.htm
https://www.bls.gov/regions/west/news-release/consumerpriceindex_sanfrancisco.htm


Marin County  
San Francisco County  
San Mateo County 
Until May 11, 2020, use the percentage change from April 2018 to April 2019 of 
4.0 percent. 

Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario, CA MSA CPI-U  
Riverside County  
San Bernardino County 
Not available for April. Use California CPI-U (3.3 percent). 

San Diego-Carlsbad-San Marco, CA MSA CPI-U 
San Diego County  
Not available for April. Use California CPI-U (3.3 percent). 

For all other counties not listed above and/or not available for April, use the 
California CPI-U  

Until June 10, 2020, use the percentage change from April 2018 to April 2019 of 
3.3 percent. 

You can view additional CPI information at 

https://www.dir.ca.gov/OPRL/CAPriceIndex.htm. 

Q. If I am in a city with rent control, how do I know if that policy or if AB 1482

protects me?

A. Local rent control laws apply if the limit (i.e., the amount of rent increase allowed)

is lower than the amount allowed by AB 1482.

Q. How does this new law change the circumstances in which evictions are

allowed?

A. For any tenant who has continuously and lawfully resided in a property for 12

months – or in units where a tenant has not met that requirement, but where at

least one tenant has resided there for 24 months – the law limits evictions to only

those situations in which landlords have a “just cause” for eviction. “Just cause”

includes “at fault” reasons (for example, failing to pay rent or committing criminal

activity at the residence) as well as “no fault” reasons (for example, when the

landlord or their family wish to move in, or the landlord wishes to demolish the

unit).

Q. What difference does it make if the “just cause” for eviction is “at fault” or

“no fault”?

https://www.bls.gov/eag/eag.ca_riverside_msa.htm
https://www.bls.gov/eag/eag.ca_sandiego_msa.htm
https://www.dir.ca.gov/OPRL/CAPriceIndex.htm
https://www.dir.ca.gov/OPRL/CAPriceIndex.htm


A. If your landlord evicts you for “no-fault just cause,” you are eligible for relocation 

assistance. The relocation assistance must be the equivalent to one month’s 

rent, and the landlord must pay the relocation assistance within 15 calendar days 

of the day the eviction notice is served.  

Q. What are the effective dates of the law? 

A. Beginning January 1, 2020, the law is in effect for 10 years. However, the cap on 

rent is retroactive to March 15, 2019. This means that the law does not apply to 

any rent increases before March 15, 2019 but does limit recent increases after 

March 15, 2019. 

If a covered tenant’s rent was increased above the allowable amount between March 

15, 2019 and January 1, 2020, the landlord must decrease the rent to the allowable 

amount as of January 1, 2020, which would be the base rent prior to the increase, plus 

5 percent + CPI (or 10 percent, whichever is lower). However, the landlord does not 

have to pay back to the tenant any rent that was paid above the allowable amount 

between March 15, 2019 and January 1, 2020. 

Q. Does the new law apply to newly constructed housing? 

A. No. Housing that has been issued a certificate of occupancy within the last 15 

years is exempt from both the “just cause” requirement and the rent cap.  

Q. How does this law affect leases? If a tenant’s lease is up, can the landlord 

choose not to renew the lease? 

A. The law’s tenant protections apply to both month-to-month rentals as well as 

fixed leases. For any tenant who has continuously and lawfully resided in a 

property for 12 months, the landlord must have “just cause” as provided in AB 

1482 to terminate the tenancy. 

Q. Does this law apply to single-family homes too? 

A. No, unless one of the following applies: 

• The home is owned by a real estate investment trust, a corporation, or an 

LLC in which one member is a corporation.  

• The landlord does not notify the renter that the home is exempt from the new 

law.  

Q. Does my landlord have to give me any special notices? 

A. Yes, all tenants living in housing covered by AB 1482 must receive a notice 

explaining the “just cause” and rent cap protections. For tenancies already in 



existence before July 1, 2020, the tenant must receive a written notice no later 

than August 1, 2020 or be notified via an addendum to the lease agreement.  

Q. What should I do if I think my landlord has violated AB 1482, or otherwise

broken the law?

A. If you believe that your rights under AB 1482 have been violated and you need

legal assistance, you should contact an attorney of your choice. To find low-cost

legal assistance in your county, visit LawHelpCA's Housing page or the State

Bar of California’s Legal Services Project page.

https://lawhelpca.org/topic/housing
http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Access-to-Justice/Legal-Aid-Grants/2020-Grant-Recipients
http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Access-to-Justice/Legal-Aid-Grants/2020-Grant-Recipients

