The Department of Special Program August, 2020
Compliance

-Special Edition-

Vacation Rental & Homeshare Monthly
Newsletter

This month our newsletter is dedicated to communicating the importance of safely re-
opening and operating Vacation Rentals during the COVID-19 pandemic. It is important to
ensure that operators and guests are adhering to the re-opening guidelines to ensure
continued safe and successful operations. If you have any questions regarding the re-
opening guidelines, feel free to contact our office.

MUSIC (MOST COMMON VIOLATION)

Music is not allowed outside of a Vacation Rental at anytime of the day or
night. Palm Springs Municipal Code States:

“...any radio receiver, musical instrument, phonograph, loudspeaker, sound
amplifier, or any machine or device for the producing or reproducing of any
sound shall be conducted within a fully enclosed Vacation Rental unit and
shall not be audible at the property line of the Vacation Rental.”

Guests in violation of this code will be issued a fine in the amount of $500.
Additionally, this will count as a strike towards the Registration Certificate.

WE HAVE NOTICED AN INCREASE OF CITATIONS RELATING TO MUSIC
VIOLATIONS SINCE THE END OF THE VACATION RENTAL MORATORIUM.
IT IS IMPORTANT THAT GUESTS RECEIVE CLEAR RULES AND
REGULATIONS IN YOUR LISTINGS, YOUR RENTAL CONTRACT AND
DURING THE CHECK-IN PROCESS TO REDUCE CONCERNS REGARDING
RULES AND REGULATIONS.

GOOD NEIGHBOR BROCHURE
Our Good Neighbor Brochure has been updated. Updates include:

e Listed $500.00 fine amount

e Updated Music verbiage

e Department title update



https://www.palmspringsca.gov/home/showdocument?id=75981

PARKING

Only ONE vehicle per bedroom is allowed at any given time. Utilize driveway and/
or garage when PARKING your vehicle before using street parking. And never block any
driveway or street access.

Guests in violation of this code will be issued a fine in the amount of $500.
Additionally, this will count as a strike towards the Registration Certificate.

GATHERINGS / EVENTS

Gatherings and Events are not allowed at Vacation Rental or Homeshares at this time. River-
side County issued guidance on May 28, 2020 that states “No events or group gatherings are
permitted until approved by the State of California. Only guests registered for the home should
be on premises.”

Code Enforcement is enforcing these guidelines. Violating these will amount to a
minimum fine of $1000 and may be issued to the guests or owner. Additionally,
this will count as a strike towards the Registration Certificate.

RIVERSIDE COUNTY GUIDELINES

For the full list of guidelines issued by Riverside County, please visit https://www.rivcoph.org/
coronavirus or select the following link Riverside County Guideline —Section E —Short Term

Vacation Rentals. Below is a list of important guidances.

e Industry Guidance and Checklists from the State of California are available at https://

covidi9.ca.gov/industry-guidance

e No events or group gatherings are permitted until approved by the State of California. Only

guests registered for the home should be on premise.

¢ Employees strongly recommended or required to wear a face covering.

e Complete a deep cleaning after each rental. Owners and/or agencies will use cleaning products
and protocols that meet with CDC guidelines and are approved for use and effective against

viruses and bacteria.

e A 24-hour gap between rental reservations, guest departure and new guest arrival, is required.

e No same-day guest departure and arrival allowed. Property will remain empty for the first 3

hours after guest departure before housekeeping’s arrival.

e Prior to arrival, owner/agent is required to send guests notices informing them of local City
and County health orders, in addition to Good Neighbor Brochures and any other documents

required by local ordinances.

e C(Clearly posted signage inside the property should notify guests of local City and County health
orders and recommendations, including that they practice frequent hand-washing and

physical distancing when leaving the property.

e These guidelines do not replace or revoke any local City ordinances with regard to short-term
rental lodging. Owners/Agents should review all current City ordinances as they apply to short

-term rental lodging.


https://files.constantcontact.com/460070a0401/db6892c8-c37f-4819-99b1-0d0701455096.pdf
https://files.constantcontact.com/460070a0401/db6892c8-c37f-4819-99b1-0d0701455096.pdf

CONTRACT SUMMARIES

Contract Summaries are required to be submitted prior to
occupancy for Vacation Rental Properties (excluding
Homeshares) .

This enables the Department of Special Program Compliance to
monitor contract count limitations as defined in the municipal
code 5.25.070(b)

The contract submittal tool is located on our website under
Submit Contract Summary. If you are experiencing problems with
the submittal tool, contact the department at 760-322-8382

Contract Summaries are not your TOT returns that are
due monthly to Finance.

Failing to submit Contract Summaries prior to occupancy is a
violation of municipal code 5.25.070(h).

Penalties for failing to submit contract summaries is a
fine of $2500 and a six month suspension to your
registration certificate.

OWNER CONTACT UPDATE

The Department encourages all permit holders to contact the
Department if any information has changed from the last
application renewal and not to wait until the next renewal period to
update. Please email Shantel.Sterling@palmspringsca.gov

This includes:

e Mailing addresses

¢ Additional email addresses
e Phone numbers

¢ Local Contact Information

The Department of Special Program Compliance
425 N Civic Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone: 760-322-8382
Fax: 760-322-8317
www.psvacationrentalcompliance.com
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For Vacation Rental/Homeshare
Application Processing:

Vacation.Rentals@palmspringsca.gov

(760) 322-8382
For Administrative Citations:

Michael Milan -
michael.milan@palmspringsca.gov

760-322-8369

To report a possible UN-registered
vacation rental:

Send an Email to Vacation Rental Code
Compliance Officer -
vacation.rentals@palmspringsca.gov
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